In 1927, Diakonische Stiftung Wittekindshof, a social enterprise for people with mental disabilities, bought the castle and until 2008 maintained an asylum there to care for mentally ill people. In 2014, the castle was taken over by the Yezidi community and an education and training centre for Yezidis from all over Europe is planned to be built there.
The Yezidis are Kurds who practise a separate religion, see wikipedia for more information.
The territory of the castle, including the small park, is open for free visit.
Getting there: there is no car park, we left the car near the road, here 52.225167, 8.687500.