The castle was first mentioned in 1318. After the Thirty Years War, in 1649, the island of Rügen withdrew to Sweden. The castle was transferred to one of the Swedish commanders, who invited Swedish architects. They rebuilt it in the Renaissance style and repainted with traditional Falun red paint, which is not typical for Germany.
At the beginning of the 19th century, the castle belonged to Napoleon's troops, and then to Prussia. Until 1945, it was owned by Putbus Princes and after the war, the castle fell into neglect. From 1990 to the present day it works as a hotel (booking.com).
Getting there: free parking N 54 33.439 E 13 30.941.