The Piney dam was built in 1953 to solve the water supply problems in the region. In 1996 there was a flood, which displaced the dam by 7 millimeters. Not much, but essential for such a construction. It was decided to lower the water level in the reservoir by 4 meters to reduce the load.
But this was not enough. Therefore, it was also decided to also an additional hole in the middle of the dam, which would allow faster drainage during floods. During the drilling of the wall, it was discovered that the internal structure was significantly damaged. In 1959 the Malpasset dam built according to the same scheme was destroyed, hundreds of people were killed. Therefore in 2000 the Pinet dam was closed.
Now it can be visited, there is no protection, the entrance to the dam is free. The place is very interesting and absolutely unknown. In 2017 French artists (ELLA & PITR) drew a huge graffiti dedicated to the problems of refugees.
The previous photo was taken from the drone. But it is possible to see the graffiti from the ground. You need to go over it to the other side of the canyon, turn right and follow the path to the nearest hills. The path is indicated on the next map.
Getting there: Only by car. On these coordinates (N 45 25.485 E 4 31.448) there is a turn on the dirt road. Drive 100 meters and there will be a small parking place for 2-3 cars. From this place to the dam is 50 meters.