The park was created in 1620 and in 1815 came to desolation. The earth was used to fill the moat. In 1984 the current owner purchased the castle and carried out restoration works using the old schemes. The moat was again excavated and 13,000 cubic meters of earth was used to restore the park in 1990 - 1993.
The park is divided into many parts, they are all different. This is clearly visible on the old map.
Classical labyrinth with a tower in the middle. In the tower live parrots and small animals.
Classical French (or English?) Garden.
Huge well-maintained lawn with sunbeds.
There is even a garden with vegetables and flowers.
We walked only in the park, but it's good idea to visit the castle too, since interior has quite a rich decoration. Check opening hours and prices on the official website.
Getting there: coordinates of parking lot N 46 32.555 E 4 41.212. Cormatin can be reached by bus number 7: Macon - Cluny - Chalon-sur-Saone (schedule).