High on a rock, the ruins of the medieval castle Castello di Vezio can be seen. We did not go up there.
The village is small and located along the water, it is impossible to get lost.
The site of Villa Monastero (https://www.villamonastero.eu/en/home_en/) was a monastery from the twelfth century. In 1569, the territory was bought by Paolo Mornico, who became rich from iron mining. In the XVII century his family reconstructed the territory. The villa got its present appearance in 1897-1909, when it was owned by German Walter Kees. In 1936, de Marchi family from Milan, donated the villa to the state and it became a museum. In 1940 the gardens were opened to the public.
In the next photo, on the left, you can see another historic site, Villa Cipressi, now a hotel. It also has a park and can be visited, but its size is incomparably smaller than that of Villa Monastero.
Getting there: there is a direct train from Milan, travel time is 1 hour. There is a covered parking lot at the entrance of the city, near Villa Monastero (46.009516, 9.285711).