The original fortress was built in the 12th century for the Lippe princely family. In 1500, the family moved to Detmold, where they built a new residence, and the Brake fortress lost its significance.
In 1584, it passed to its most famous owner, Count Simon VI of the Lippe. He was a well-educated man, was interested in the sciences and collected paintings. The count rebuilt the fortress into a castle in the style of the Weser Renaissance and made it his residence. The tower was used by him for astronomical purposes and for observing stars.
On the site there are also an Italian restaurant and an old water mill. Inside the castle is the Weser Renaissance Museum.
Getting there: Parking N 52 01.372 E 8 54.891. The Lemgo-Lüttfeld train station is two minutes from the castle.